Home > God > What’s Your Focus?

What’s Your Focus?

Lately, I’ve been super busy. Between my day job as a teacher, my volunteer work with Young Life and Wyldlife, and trying to get my new business Avenue A In-Home Tutoring off the ground, I’ve been working myself to death. If I’m not grading a mountain of papers or running kids around all over town, I’ve got my nose buried in the laptop trying to drum up business and build my brand. Don’t get me wrong, I’m certainly not complaining about any of it. I know how blessed I am to have the resources and energy to be able to do all of these things. But, there comes a time when I do begin to feel overwhelmed, and without fail, I’m always reminded of the same exact thing.

You see, none of the things I’ve mentioned is intrinsically evil. In fact, I believe with my heart of hearts that they are all worthwhile causes that warrant my attention. However, I have a tendency to allow even the good things in my life to push Jesus out of the place of honor that He deserves. When this happens, I usually feel like my life is spinning out of control.

It’s really easy for me to steal time away from Christ. After all, He’ll forgive me, right? But, I’m learning with each new day that although He longs to be with me and to care for me, He’ll never force Himself upon me so when I start stepping all over Him, He gladly backs away until I realize that I just can’t do it all without Him. The fact is, I absolutely cannot do it without Him.

So, what do I have to do? It’s really as simple as giving Him back what is rightfully His. My time is a gift that He’s given me stewardship over. Close study of His Word and His nature will reveal that the best way to spend it is by using it to develop a more intimate and meaningful relationship with Him.

15 Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise,
16 making the most of your time, because the days are evil.
17 So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

Ephesians 5:15-17 (NASB)

Categories: God
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment